Go Back   Bream Master Forums > FishPhart > Tips and Hints

Tips and Hints Share Your Experience and Help Others Get That Dream Shot

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 15-07-2013, 07:15 AM
Blue Lip

Underwater Photo Thread: Pics, Tips and Queries

Okay, so I've gone out and splurged a little bit and got myself a new digital SLR, with a nice twin lens kit. Nothing over the top, but a good intermediate camera that should be able to do what I want.

I'm looking at spending a few more $$$ to get underwater housing for it, but I'm a complete newbie to this sort of thing. What sort of lens, and portal are best suited to fish photography? What sort of settings are best to capture those incredible underwater shots?

I really love the idea of getting underwater shots, so I'd love to see some other people's work, how they did it and what tips they have!

So fire away people

Geneo Kustoms
http://geneokustoms.com/
Old 15-07-2013, 08:33 PM
Blue Lip

I honestly wouldnt be dunking an expensive SLR even if it had a waterproof housing. What if you slip and drop it? Bye bye camera.

Look at something like a small pocket sized camera that is rated for water. Some models like the panasonic lumix are fairly cheap and still take a good pic. That way if you drop it your not up for big bucks. The main thing with taking pics underwater is you need as much light as possible to maximise colours on the fish and show plenty of blue in the water as its looks so nice. Other than that I find the more pics you take the better the chances of getting something decent. Since you cant see into the camera while holding it under water you just have to rely on sheer numbers of photos until you figure out the best angles and distances to hold it away from fish.
Old 16-07-2013, 12:55 AM
Big Bream