Go Back   Bream Master Forums > FishPhart > Cameras and Accessories

Cameras and Accessories What Camera to Buy be it Big or Small and What to Get With it.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2013, 02:53 AM
chris268's Avatar
chris268 chris268 is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,794
GoPro Hero3 and 64g Micro SD

Hey guys,

I've got a Hero3 Black on the way and was doing some reading about a heap of issues people have had with these GoPro's and 64g Micro SD's. I've read heaps of posts and reviews where people have said after a few short uses their 64g cards have died and have become unreadable. A lot of those people have then used 32g cards instead without issue.
Has anyone here had issues with 64g cards? I was initially wanting a 64 but after reading all that, ordered a 32 instead.

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2013, 06:07 AM
seismicboy's Avatar
seismicboy seismicboy is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 57
Keen to hear about this issue too as I have just purchased a Hero3 with 64g card.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-05-2013, 05:04 AM
grander grander is offline
Fingerling
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Check these out....


http://goprouser.freeforums.org/sd-c...es-t10655.html


http://abekislevitz.com/understanding-your-new-gopro/


http://abekislevitz.com/understandin...-gopro-part-2/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-04-2014, 04:13 AM
SLAZMO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
32gig cards seem to have the most stability with write speeds, dont bother trying to read a video straight off the gopro. Dump it onto your pc and view it like that.

I got 2 x 32gig Samsung class 10 micro sd cards with write speeds of 48meg/sec... they work great on 1080p 48 frames/sec I dont bother with protune or 4k...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-04-2014, 04:32 AM
eddystone's Avatar
eddystone eddystone is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Live in Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 1,568
I run 64's work fine,

They need to be good quality cards!

Pat
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-05-2014, 07:41 PM
Piranha's Avatar
Piranha Piranha is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Yarrawonga Vic
Posts: 1,229
I was warned off buying the 64 at dick smiths and sold a 32 instead, they would have made more money by selling me a 64 so there must be a reason? I didn't ask why because I didn't understand the techno talk he bafelled me with beforehand
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-05-2014, 12:08 AM
SLAZMO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Its good of them that they didnt give you the 64 from what I read also.

32's seem to be the way to go until technology catches up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-05-2014, 01:18 AM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 711
My one is fine! have a 64gb SanDisk ultra sdxc class 10 which hasn't let me down. Have had my gopro 3 black for over a year now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-05-2014, 01:35 AM
SLAZMO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How does it go with 4k and protune?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-05-2014, 02:03 AM
Kyle101's Avatar
Kyle101 Kyle101 is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Townsville
Posts: 1,241
I run 2 x 64GB Sandisk Class 10's and 2 x 32GB Class 10's in my Blacks and Silver and have had no dramas with any of them.

I dont shoot in 1080 because there purely is no reason! I also do all my editing on Final Cut Pro and iMovie!
__________________
Cheers Kyle



www.searingtackle.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22-05-2014, 02:14 AM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle101 View Post
I run 2 x 64GB Sandisk Class 10's and 2 x 32GB Class 10's in my Blacks and Silver and have had no dramas with any of them.

I dont shoot in 1080 because there purely is no reason! I also do all my editing on Final Cut Pro and iMovie!
Just wanted to know why not 1080? I'm very inexperienced in cameras. Thanks mate.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22-05-2014, 02:56 AM
TassieDevil's Avatar
TassieDevil TassieDevil is offline
Mature Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Derwent River
Posts: 483
720p is shot at 120fps (correct me if I'm wrong) and is the best res to shoot in if you're planning use some super slow-mo footage.
__________________
Keep Casting - JC
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22-05-2014, 03:58 AM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by TassieDevil View Post
720p is shot at 120fps (correct me if I'm wrong) and is the best res to shoot in if you're planning use some super slow-mo footage.
Thanks mate really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22-05-2014, 04:03 AM
Kyle101's Avatar
Kyle101 Kyle101 is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Townsville
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bash View Post
Just wanted to know why not 1080? I'm very inexperienced in cameras. Thanks mate.
I choose not to purely because most home computers aren't able to view 1080 full HD, unless you have an extremely good processor and high ram it isn't viable and you will view it as glitchy or laggy.

I do like to shoot a lot of stuff in 720p like TassieDevil has stated. You still get super clear shots and it does enable a lot of room to edit. Also doesn't fill your SD card too quick either! Which is very handy when you only have limited resources!
__________________
Cheers Kyle



www.searingtackle.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22-05-2014, 04:15 AM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle101 View Post
I choose not to purely because most home computers aren't able to view 1080 full HD, unless you have an extremely good processor and high ram it isn't viable and you will view it as glitchy or laggy.

I do like to shoot a lot of stuff in 720p like TassieDevil has stated. You still get super clear shots and it does enable a lot of room to edit. Also doesn't fill your SD card too quick either! Which is very handy when you only have limited resources!

Thanks mate really helped.

If you download VLC media player on your pc you won't have a lagging or glitchy problem. I was recording in 4k and had no problem playing it with VLC media player. Do not use windows media player.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Google